Local Derby goes to University of Galway Maree

University of Galway 68 (36)

Maigh Cuilinn 46 (20)

Despite holding University of Galway Maree to by far their lowest scoring total of the season, Maigh Cuilnn were unable to get a win in the local derby as the nominal home team were 68 to 46 winners in front of a large Kingfisher Arena attendance.

The university had scored 90 points or more in all but one of their prior games heading into the contest (they scored 89 against Neptune) but found their usually free flowing offence severely disrupted by a tenacious Maigh Cuilinn defensive display.

Unortunately for the men from Conemara, they could find little scoring touch of their own despite creating plenty of good open looks. Aside from an excellent display by new signing Mateo Liberatore, who finished with 17 and some good flashes by Kyle Cunningham who had 8, most others will be dissapointed with their return at the attacking end.

Maigh Cuilinn of course played the game once more with three of the usual five starters sidelined through injury and one could only imagine what the scoring punch of James Loughnane, James Connaire and James Lyons might just have added on the night.

It was not to be however and the university were full value for their win, leading by 10 points after the first quarter, which lead they extended to 16 by the half. It was essentially all done by the end of the third when the lead had grown to 24. A battling final quarter from Maigh Cuilinn saw them win the period by two and leave the final margin at 22.

Next up for Maigh Cuilinn is a home clash against old foes UCC Demons. The sides have had some epic battles over the years but the visitors will certainly be the favourites, sitting six places ahead of Maigh Cuilinn in the league table as the Galway outfit are still awaiting their first win of this campaign.

The game against UCC Demons will be last home game for Maigh Cuilinn until a 30 December meeting against what are now relegation rivals UCD Marian.

Maigh Cuilinn Scorers: Mateo Liberatore 17, Grant Olsson 10, Kyle Cunningham 8, Ayberk Taylan 8, Rory O’Sullivan 3, Dara Kenna, Brian Gaffney, Donagh McDonagh, Kevin Nugent, Dylan Cunningham, Joseph Tummon.

Categories: News

%d bloggers like this: