Blitz 2021

After a superb day of basketball played in near perfect conditions save for an hour or two of rain, Kyle Cunningham’s team were left standing to lift the Jim Lee Perpetual Trophy.

Incredibly, the win marked the 11th blitz title for John Cunningham, who has now won blitz titles in each of the last five decades from the 1980s through to the 2020s.

The win also saw Sean Hynes claim his seventh blitz title and as result, he climbs the all time rankings to sit tied second with Gerry Nihill.

Getting their first wins and therefore exiting the Hall of Shame were long time blitz players Cormac Lee and Chris McNairney.

Cormac Lee also scooped the Dandy Kelly Spirit of the Blitz Award while Ger Davoren was named the MVP.

Well done to all players and thanks to all who helped out on the day.

Take a look back at some other recent blitzes here.

For more of the history of this great day check out History of Moycullen Basketball Club 1966 – 2016: Caoga Bliain ag Fás.

Categories: News

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: