All systems go for final double: U20 Men & SSE Airtricity Moycullen

Moycullen basketball fans are facing a treat this coming weekend with two teams from the club taking part in National Finals in the National Basketball Arena in Dublin. Although Moycullen is one of the biggest clubs in the country and has a long history of national success, having two teams in national finals is a major achievement.

SSE Airtricity Moycullen, who currently top the National League, face C&S Blue Demons from Cork in the President’s Cup Final. Moycullen have only once before won the National Cup and that was in 2009. That team included just 3 of the current squad. Two of them were a father and son duo, Nollaig and Dylan Cunningham and these are now joined by Under 18 player Kyle Cunningham in the squad. The third player from 2009 is James Loughnane who has spent some time in Canada in the interim but is now back to his best and gave a MVP performance in the semi-final win against fellow Galway Titans.

The recruitment of Paul Freeman and return of Chris McNairney from Titans and Ronan O’Sullivan from Ballincollig has added a lot of steel to the team. Aided by local talent Ian Burke and Under 20 players Sean Candon, Rory Gilson, Stephen O’Brien, Daragh Mulkerrins, and  Joe Tummon (still Under 18) the team has a nice balance. They know they face a very skilful and probably more experienced Demons team but club Technical Director and Coach, Salva Camps, will face the challenge with optimism.

The  President’s Cup game takes place Sunday at 2.30pm. A bus leaves An Furan, Moycullen at 10am. Cost €10 return. To book your seat contact Mary Gilson 087 6298925 or Julie O’Brien 087 7977953.

The Under 20 Men’s team, who are sponsored by McCann’s Supervalu, face Belfast Star who won the equivalent competition at Under 18. Sean Candon, Rory Gilson, Stephen O’Brien, Daragh Mulkerrins, Joe Tummon and Kyle Cunningham are getting lots of senior experience.

Coach Nollaig Cunningham can also call on Jack Costelloe, Connor Curran, brothers Sean and Eoghan Kelly, Dara O’Sullivan, Conor Egan and point guard Rory Heffernan as they seek to overcome this fancied Belfast side and repeat the Under 20 success of 2008. This game tips off at 1.00pm on Saturday.

Categories: Basketball Ireland, Mens

%d bloggers like this: